October 1, 2022

Three poets compete for NLNG’s $100,000 literature prize

On Friday, the chairman of the $100,000 NLNG Literature Prize Advisory Board, Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo, announced the shortlisted poets whose books made the final cut for the coveted prize.

The shortlisted books for the 2022 edition of the literature prize are “Memory and the Call of Water” by Su’eddie Vershima Agema, “Nomad” by Romeo Oriogun and “Your Crib, My Qibla” by Saddiq Dzukogi.

The finalists were selected from a long list of 11 recently announced by the Board of Directors.

The Nigerian Prize for Literature, sponsored by Nigeria LNG to promote and reward excellence in writing, rotates annually between four literary categories of prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature.

The 2022 edition of the Nigeria Prize for Literature initially had 287 poets competing for the $100,000 prize.

The judges will announce the winner and result of the 2022 edition of the Nigerian Literary Critics Award on October 14.

Author and Professor of Law at Babcock University, Ilishan Remo, Ogun State, Cheluchi Onyemelukwe-Onuobia, won the 2021 award with his novel, Son of the House.


Sule Egya leads the jury. Professor of African Literature and Cultural Studies at Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai, Niger State, Mr. Egya is a renowned poet and novelist who writes under the pseudonym EE Sule.

He has written more than 100 scientific articles and literary essays. Her first novel, Sterile Sky, won the 2013 Commonwealth Book Prize for the Africa region. Her volumes of poetry include What the Sea Told Me, which won the 2009 ANA/Gabriel Okara Prize.

READ ALSO: NLNG Announces Winner of $100,000 Literature Prize

The other judges are Toyin Adewale-Gabriel and Dike Chukwumerije. Adewale-Gabriel is a poet and narrator. She has worked as a literary critic in The Guardian, Post Express and The Daily Times. She is often described as “the most beautiful and remarkable voice of new African poetry”. Dike Chukwumerije is a Nigerian spoken word and performative poetry artist and an award-winning author.

He has published several books and is the mastermind behind Night of the Spoken Word, a live poetry show and theater production, Made in Nigeria Poetry Show. He also won the 2013 Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA) award for prose fiction.

The other members of the advisory board are two professors, Olu Obafemi and Ahmed Yerima.

Support the integrity and credibility journalism of PREMIUM TIMES

Good journalism costs a lot of money. Yet only good journalism can guarantee the possibility of a good society, an accountable democracy and a transparent government.

For free and continued access to the best investigative journalism in the country, we ask that you consider providing modest support to this noble endeavour.

By contributing to PREMIUM TIMES, you help sustain relevant journalism and keep it free and accessible to everyone.

Make a donation

ANNOUNCEMENT TEXT: Call Willie – +2348098788999

Announcement of the PT Mag campaign